Month: July 2014

  • such

    Whopper Jr's for lunch.

    Mary's sugar crashed while shopping in Walmart. We had coffee and cookies in Subway. Greeted by Skip Stroud.

    Approached by Richie Wentzel in the parking lot.

    Richie Wentzel.


    So many years have passed, and my memory is such, that Richie had to tell me who he was. His family and mine go way back to Belfast days.

    Mary and I watched My Joy (2010) from Netflix. The ugly underbelly of the Russian countryside. Corrupt society. Gritty. How did this get by Russian censorship?

    A little time at the outpost. Pleasant.

    78.0 °F, clear.

  • scampi

    Yesterday's accomplishments, have left me in good spirits today. If I can get some relief for worries over Mother's finances, I will have more peace like this in the days ahead.

    No oil leakage overnight. :-)


    Shrimp scampi with home-grown butter beans for lunch. Home-grown tomato on the side. Peach and cherry appetizers.

    Gravestone of my grandfather's grandmother's father.


    Mary has been cleaning house all day.

    77.8 °F, clear.

  • repairs

    We were in the car, ready to go, when sister Deborah called. She and Mother had already been to the bank and had half Mother's certificate of deposit put into Mother's checking account. I would not have to do it.

    Heading out, the scooter lift with scooter slid sideways. A trucker behind us helped Mary get it back in place. A pen was broken.

    Sausage egg McMuffins for breakfast, then to the Courthouse Annex to record George's and my power of attorney. Turned out Boyd had already recorded it. On the way out, we met niece Denise and Robert in the parking lot. They had Leah with them.

    Leah was not in the best of moods.

    At First Farmers Bank, we deposited two checks and I had the power of attorney recognized.

    Potty break. Back at the house, we noticed it was unusually hot. The air-conditioner would not come on. I called Gary Hollingsworth.

    Back on the road. Lunch at Subway. We shared the Monday special: Turkey Breast and Black Forest Ham sandwich. In Walmart, we bought a hanging pot to replace Mary's broken one. Her oregano.

    At Co-op, we reported that the Durango continued to leak oil. Ben examined the engine and tightened the transmission pan bolts. That should finally fix the problem. Ben also found a replacement for the scooter lift. No charge for today's service. Mary and I paid for last week's gasket replacement, as Ben assured us it was really needed.

    Mary and I voted at the old McCord School. Rows of politicians waved flags and posters, staying close to their tents. It was hot.

    Gary called soon after Mary and I returned home. Came right over and changed out the air-conditioner motor. Told me nowadays such motors weren't expected to last more than 4-5 years. Made in Mexico.

    Deborah called. She and Rachel had been at the old Walker cemetery and taken pictures. :-)

    Mary just finished shelling the peas George brought yesterday. Our mouths are watering.

    78.2 °F, mostly cloudy.

  • upbeat

    Marion didn't make it. Doctor's appointment. But, Andrea surprised us with a visit, bringing little Harrison.

    Mary tests Harrison's grip.


    For lunch we had boneless chicken thighs, fried okra, cornbread, our tomato and George's yellow squash and butter beans. Cantaloupe appetizers.

    Andrea took Marion's place at cards. Harrison snoozed and talked in his sleep at her side.

    Madonna and child.


    The game went much longer than it usually does. Mother must have really enjoyed Andrea's company. I know it made her more attentive.

    Can you tell who's winning?

    No bumps in the road this day.

  • sleep

    Slept the sleep of the totally exhausted. Felt more at peace today.

    Up early again. But, Mark Dalton of Co-op didn't pick up the Durango till midday.


    Lunch was swai fish, plantain and an abundance of home-grown vegetables - tomato, seared yellow squash and steamed okra. Avocado on the side. Peach appetizers.

    Mark returned with the Durango. Replacement of valve cover gaskets, $111.46. If that stops the leak, or even just most of it, that will be money well spent.

    Mary and I watched In the Blood (2014) from Netflix. Tough as nails newlywed wreaks havoc on a small Caribbean island when her husband disappears. Lots of action and suspense.

    83.4 °F, clear.

  • sentiment

    Marion wanted to get some family together for breakfast to honor Daddy on his birthday. Daddy would have turned 96 today. So, Mary and I were at the Huddle House at 9:00 am. No one showed. No one answered my calls. Mary and I figured we'd been stood up. Ordered breakfast. Two eggs over medium, hash browns, wheat toast and sausage for each. Mary added grits to her order. No sooner had we ordered than sister Deborah called. She, Mother and David were having breakfast at Shoney's with George, Marion, Delores and Sam! Oh well. It was the sentiment and effort that mattered.

    After breakfast, Mary and I drove to Co-op to get a second opinion on our oil leak. Ben said the oil was leaking from the valves. Tomorrow, he would pick up the Durango and fix the leak. :-) Sounds much better than Cory's verdict at Lyons GM. Fingers crossed.


    Shrimp and salad for lunch.

    Snoozes over, Mary and I headed to the recycle center with garbage, then to Dollar General Market for avocados that were on sale.

    83.9 °F, clear.

  • messed up

    Rough day. Stomach messed up. Nerves.

    More of the soup and cornbread for lunch. Fresh made blackberry juice and avocado on the side.

    Watched Proof (1991) from Netflix. A sightless man with trust issues works them out with his housekeeper and a restaurant dishwasher. Hugo Weaving, Geneviève Picot and an amazingly young Russell Crowe turn in impeccable performances.

    Escape from the house. Kroger for medicine. I spotted Russell McDaniel in the parking lot. Drove to VFW. Left the Durango there as we headed for Cornersville Road in the park. To John Wallace's bench before turning back. Mary feared rain.

    Deborah called. Cut three fingers on a tub.

    Murphy for gasoline. Walmart for a 64 GB memory stick and a frozen pizza.

    Sign of the times. Walmart carries only four desktop computers.


    Turkey hotdog, potato chips and peach wedges for a late supper.

    73.1 °F, rain.

  • drip


    Chicken with our salad for lunch.

    After nap and coffee time, we headed for the park. On the way, I decided to do something about the oil dripping from the Durango. At Lyons GM, Cory investigated and told me there were leakages from three separate places in the engine. Advised we have the oil level checked fairly often. Solving the problem would cost as much as the value of the automobile. :-(

    Cory gives me the bad news.


    Moving on, Mary and I drove to the library and parked the Durango next to a Cube there. The approaching necessity of buying a new vehicle was on my mind. I had Mary check to see if the gear shift was on the steering column so I could drive it. No. And, Mary would never agree to such a small car anyhow.

    Gear shift in the floor.


    In the park, we made it to the railroad bridge before turning back. Mary rode part of the return trip with me in the scooter. Nature was calling her. Walking made it worse. Not even time to snap a deer posing seductively at woods edge.


    Back home, sister Deborah brought some of the blackberries she picked at some farm and baseball-sized peaches. I sampled them for my supper. Later, she called to tell me she had already made over forty pints of blackberry jam.

    I accompanied Mary as she watered and weeded.

    A losing battle against crabgrass.

    I have been surfing again in no man's land. Bad boy. Already got malware aplenty. Deleted a bunch of junk. Maybe, I won't need another install so soon.

    72.6 °F, clear.

  • restore

    Jerry Murdock brought the Durango back this morning. Lyons GM couldn't find anything wrong with it. Still cost me $107.88 :-( Nothing much to do now, except to drive it till it stops in the middle of the highway.

    Mary and I deposited two checks at First Farmers, then Mary exchanged a carton of sour milk at Walmart and bought a pair of little child's sandals so that she could convert one into a riser for the gas pedal.

    We shared a foot-long club sandwich at Subway. Blanca was waiting for us when we got back to the house. Jamie had driven her and Blanca's friend Nidia down from Smyrna with stuff Antonio sent back for us with William.

    Mary fixed up her company a quick lunch, hunted up straw hats for Blanca and Nidia, then took them on a walk down to brother George's garden. They came away with arms full of produce. :-)

    Blanca and Nidia in straw hats.

    The mess finally got so bad on my computer, I had to restore the operating system. Should have thought to back up photos from the last two weeks. Oh, well. No big loss.

    Found there were two pictures in the Sony I had forgotten to delete. :-) But, the newly restored Windows wouldn't read my 64 GB SD card. With a little help from Google, I downloaded the necessary update.

    Solving problems is my forte, when the proper tools are at my disposal. I actually enjoy it.

    73.9 °F, mostly cloudy.

  • Equinox

    A couple of fellows from Lyons GM came for the Durango. Left a 2014 tungsten Chevy Equinox as a loaner. I'm sure the idea was that Mary and I should fall in love with it. No danger of that. The gear shift was on the side so I couldn't drive it. And, Mary was terrified at the car's strangeness.

    "Now, how does this thing start?"


    A salad with slivers of chicken for our lunch.

    Sister-in-law Delores was A big help this afternoon. Took Mary to First Farmers to deposit the checks, then to Walmart for groceries. Switching over to her pickup, she even carried off our garbage.

    Mary thought I should take a picture of my little supper.

    George brought us more yellow squash from his garden. :-)

    Delores and Sam were just here. He wanted to sit in the Equinox. Didn't fit his large proportions.

    79.8 °F, clear.

Recent Comments

Categories